Recognized by National Medical Commission (NMC) & Govt. of India and constituent college of Dr. MGR Educational and Research Institute

best dermatologist in bangalore



Dermatology, the science of skin, is one of the many specialties that have evolved from general medicine, although its recognition as a distinct specialty is recent.
Dermatological diseases (including Venereology and Leprology) constitute approximately 30% of outpatient attendance in any hospital. They are often easily noticed by others and cause great social concern to the patients. Skin disorders are an important factor causing psychological burden and very often their association with internal diseases, makes the subject special and important to study in the current scenario. Considering this fact and to provide specialty services to the rural population in and around Bangalore, the Department of Skin & V.D was established since the inception of the college. The department though initially accredited to undertake training of undergraduate students, presently is recognized by the Medical Council of India (MCI) to train young doctors for postgraduate degree in dermatology. The department is well provided with state of the art equipment and continues to acquire more equipment which is required for imparting training to the students and is also involved in research.


  • Medical Education- M.B.,B.S., and M.D.( DVL),
  • Consultation, Investigations, Diagnosis and Treatment of Skin and related Disorders ( by Medications, Cauterization, Radio frequency, Curettage, Dermabrasion, ,Laser Therapy, Phototherapy etc.,)
  • Research in the field of Dermatology.


Why Choose Us?

The Department is composed of experienced, enthusiastic, highly active and dedicated faculty who provide quality education, and service. Faculties are keenly involved in innovative research works. Faculties update their knowledge and are abreast with latest technology and methodologies.


All the faculties are into research. Some projects have been completed.


Dr. Umashankar N:
Award papers- Sporotrichoid Mycobacterial Infection- A Diagnostic Dilemma; 65th Annual Conference , Karnataka Tamilnadu branch,

IADVL, 2001, Salem. Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus in Community Acquired Pyoderma in rural South India-30th National Conference of IADVL, 2002, Cochin, Kerala.

 Effectiveness of topical green tea against multidrug resistant staphylococcus aureus-Young Dermatologists Forum, 34th National Conference of IADVL,2006, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh.

Screen Dermatoses- A newer occupational hazard in visual display unit workers- 35th National Conference of IADVL, 2007, Chennai.
Quiz competition- First Prize , 65thKarnataka- Tamilnadu IADVL conference, Salem, Tamilnadu.

MGM Award for BEST PAPER PRESENTATION, National Conference of IADVL,Chennai, Tamilnadu.

IADVL-BRITISH ASSOCIATION OF DERMATOLOGISTS (B A D ) Exchange Fellowship, B A D National Conference,2007,Birmingham, UK.

INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE DERMATOLOGISTS SOCIETY Scholarship Awardee, 2007, ( Attended World Congress Of Dermatology, 2007, Argentina. INTRNATIONAL CONGRESS of DERMATOLOGY (I C D ) Scholarship Awardee, 2009 represented India at ICD meet , 2009 Prague Czeck Republic.

Dr. Belliappa P.R:
Gold Medal Awarded for passing Post-Graduate Diploma examination in First class with Distinction, KMC Mangalore, 2002.

Dr. Hari Kishan Kumar Y:
1 Prof. K. Siddapa Gold Medal for “Origional Research Paper”, - Evaluational NB UVB in Vitiligo, A study of 150 casesat 35th National Conferencne of IADVL, 2007, Chennai, Tamilnadu.

2 First prize in Leprosy in the Academy of Medical Sciences competition, Andhra Medical College , Vishakapatnam, 2007.

 3 GALDERMA PG GRANT awarded THREE TIMES at 33rd, 34th and 35th National Conference of IADVL , for i) Best Free Paper, ii)Best Poster and iii)Award Paper.


Dr. Sapnashree Bhaskar:
Dr. H.C. Mohanti Award for Best Paperin Leprosy, DERMACON-2010, National Conference of IADVL, 2010. Lucknow, U P.




Paper Presentation


“Will update soon…”


  • Dr. Belliappa P.R

    Professor & HOD
  • Dr. Hari Kishan Kumar Y

  • Dr. Priya K.S

    Professor,Dean of administration
  • Dr. Leena Ravindra

    Professor,Dean of Medical Education
  • Dr.Vishal Methre

    Associate Professor
  • Dr. Sushmitha E.S

    Assistant Professor
  • Dr Loknath

    Sr. Resident
  • Dr. Yumjom Padu

    Jr. Resident
  • Dr. Karishma Desai

    Jr. Resident
  • Dr. Dennis Henry

    Jr. Resident
  • <<  < February-2024 >  >>